Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer to 2014 Ballon d’Or

first_imgCristiano Ronaldo was named the winner of the Ballon d’Or for the second year in a row at a ceremony in Switzerland on Monday evening. Puskas goal of the year:  James Rodriguez (Colombia) World coach of the year for men’s football: Joachim Löw (Germany) —————————————————- Sport EN FIFA presidential award: Hiroshi Kagawa (Japanese journalist) Ronaldo said: “It has been an unforgettable year and to win a trophy of this kind is something unique. The Real Madrid forward also won the award in 2008 when he was a Manchester United player. Ronaldo received 37.66 per cent of the vote ahead of Lionel Messi (15.76 per cent) and Manuel Neuer (15.72 per cent). “I want to continue working as I have so far to go on to win more titles as an individual and in a team. “Of course this is something that is always with me. I want to become one of the greatest players of all time and this requires a lot of effort but I hope to get there.”center_img 12/01/2015 Women’s Ballon d’Or 2014: Nadine Kessler (Wolfsburg) Men’s Ballon d’Or 2014: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) FIFA team of the year: Neuer; Ramos, Luiz, Silva, Lahm; Iniesta, Kroos, Di Maria; Robben, Messi, Ronaldo He beat four-time winner Lionel Messi, who finished second, and Germany’s World Cup winning goalkeeper Manuel Neuer to the prize. Germany coach Joachim Löw was voted the coach of the year for men’s football, edging out competition from Madrid’s Carlo Ancelotti and Atletico’s Diego Simeone. Upd. on 22/11/2016 at 03:06 CET World coach of the year for women’s football: Ralf Kellerman (Wolfsburg) FIFA Fair Play Award 2014: The volunteers at all FIFA tournamentslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *