New Zealand A squad announced for India tour, specialist wicket-keeping coach to accompany

first_imgIn a first, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) have selected a specialist wicket-keeping coach to accompany their ‘A’ team which would be touring India later this month.43-year-old Martyn Croy, a former Otago glovesman, has made it to the touring team management which would be led by head coach Shane Bond.The 16-member squad announced on Thursday will be captained by Henry Nicholls and consists of three young wicketkeepers.As many as 13 of these 16 players have represented the Blackcaps with seven centrally contracted to NZC.The New Zealand team will be playing two four-day and five one-day games against Rahul Dravid-coached India ‘A’ team.Both four-day matches will be played in Vijayawada (September 23-26 & September 30-October 3) while all the five one-day games will be held in Vizag from October 6 to 13.There will be only one change in the 15-man squad for the different formats, with Jeet Raval replacing Glenn Philips following the First Class fixtures. “Having Marty Croy there to work with our three young wicketkeepers will be of immense benefit to their development. It’s obviously a very specific skill set and a position we need to build depth in,” said Gavin Larsen, selector and manager for the tour.”Going into a significantly different environment to that of the New Zealand domestic scene is a huge opportunity to promote player growth. Preparing for international cricket is challenging, so this is a great chance for these players to improve their game in sub-continent conditions,” he added.The team depart for India on September 19.advertisementNew Zealand ‘A’ Squad: Henry Nicholls (C), Todd Astle, Tom Blundell, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Seth Rance, Jeet Raval, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Sean Solia, George Worker, Will YoungNZ A tour of India schedule:1st Four-Day match – September 23-26, Vijayawada;2nd Four-Day match – September 30-October 3, Vijayawada1st One-Day match – October 6, Visakhapatnam2nd One-Day match – October 8, Visakhapatnam3rd One-Day match – October 10, Visakhapatnam4th One-Day match – October 13, Visakhapatnam5th One-Day match – October 15, Visakhapatnamlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *